Oostende celebrates 6th consecutive league title


Telenet Oostende maintained its iron-like grip on Belgian Basketball by lifting the EuroMillions league title for the sixth consecutive time. The club overcame Brussels 64-77 in Game 4 to take the finals series 3-1.

The club has bee dominant for half a decade and is now a 17-time winner of the Belgian league. This makes Oostende the winningest club in the history of hoops in the country.

Oostende started on fire, draining 25 points in the first quarter and stopping Brussels to 8 points for a massive lead through 10 minutes. The hosts hit back with a 19-17 winning frame in Q2, but through the long break it was the defending champs who looked good with a 27-42 lead. Brussels edged the third act 17-16, but was moving to slow in its comeback. Through thirty minutes the score was 44-58 and Oostende could ease through the 20-20 fourth quarter to victory.

Dusan Djordjevic secured 17 points in the win, while Rasko Katic netted 16 points.

Chris Dowe took a double-double of 15 points and 11 rebounds in the losing effort.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.