Anwil Wins 2018 Polish League Championship

Polish LeagueAnwil Wloclawek downed BM Slam Stal Ostrow Wlkp in Game 6 of the finals 73-65 to capture the 2018 Polish League (PLK) championship. This is the second Polish League title for the organization. They won their first championship a decade a half ago in 2003. Anwil has slowly built up their resources to get to this point and in 2017-18 their hard work has come to fruition and they topped the PLK regular season standings with 24-8 record. BM Slam Stal came in second with a 23-9 slate and gave them a challenge here in the finals.

This game was very close for the first three quarters. BM Slam Stal had the homecourt advantage and had some crisp plays thanks to some unselfish ball movement. Anwil would win the battle of the boards and controlled the tempo of the game with their 35-26 rebounding edge.

Jayin Airington dropped a game-high 17 points for Anwil, however, credit must be given to Kamil Laczynski, who saw 33 minutes of action as he directed traffic for his team. Laczynski found open teammates in the fourth period and finished with 11 points and eight assists. The backcourt duo would prove to be too much for their hosts to handle in the final frame and Anwil edged out BM Slam Stal for the victory.

This well-deserved win puts Anwil back on the map in domestic competition. As the defending Polish League champions in 2018-19, they will have a target on their backs. The question is will they have what it takes to protect their crown?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.