Shrinking Baltic League merges two divisions

The Basketball League (BBL) is changing the format for the upcoming season by merging the two divisions (Elite and Challenge Cup). It means that the total number of teams competing for the title in 2012/2013 will be 21.

This decision was most probably a result of last week’s announcement of several top-teams that they would leave the Baltic League and chose for the much stronger VTB league instead.

The BBL season will now consist out of three separate sessions. The opening event of the season will be the BBL Cup 2012 with four participating teams, similar to previous seasons. The BBL Championship tournament will be held with 21 participating teams from Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Kazakhstan.

When the champion of the BBL Championship tournament is confirmed, the season will be completed with the Baltic Super Cup 2013. Held in a Final Four format, the winners of the BBL Championship tournament will take on the winners of the three 2012 Baltic domestic league winners.

The final list of the participants of the BBL season 2012/2013 will be announced on September 3, 2012.

Share This Post

Posted by on September 2, 2012. Filed under Baltic League,Breaking News,Estonia,Europe,Kazakhstan,Latvia,Lithuania. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

One Response to Shrinking Baltic League merges two divisions

  1. Frank the tank Reply

    September 4, 2012 at 10:47

    Baltic retion has been doing this kind of organisations for a long time. They have to be consistanton one or two organisations

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>